NutriPro More plants on Plate – Hidden animal-based ingredients

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

While meat, eggs, and dairy milk are easy to identify, there are other foods where the presence of animal products is not so obvious.

To respect your guests’ wishes, double-check the following ingredients as requested.

Hidden Dairy Ingredients
Coffee creamer and some alternative dairy sources
May contain casein from milk

Bread and baked goods
May contain whey from milk

Protein powder
May contain whey from milk

Hidden Animal Ingredients
Gelatin, pudding, marshmallows and gummy candies
Gelatin is made with bone or hides and is a common ingredient in confections

Check label for bone broth

Breads and baked goods
Check label for L-cysteine, used as a dough conditioner derived from animal sources

Hidden Egg Ingredients
Sauces, salad dressings, meringue

Other Animal Products