Nutripro
Article

NutriPro Food Allergens - Did you know that wheat is recognized as a major allergen in many countries?

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Some people are allergic to the proteins in wheat, and it is recognized as a major allergen in many countries. The EU broadens this category, including all gluten-containing cereals in this group of allergens. In addition to allergies, there are also other reasons for some guests to avoid consuming gluten, so it is important for you to understand the issues and know your options.


Good to Know

Avoid:
Wheat
Any variety of wheat grain (bulgur, couscous, einkorn, emmer, farina, kamut, seitan, semolina, spelt)
Any form of wheat (bran, durum, germ, gluten, grass, malt, sprouts, starch)
Wheat flour
Wheat germ oil
Hydrolysed wheat protein
Cereal extract
Matzoh
Pasta
Cooking sprays
Artificial vanilla
Cake icing
Gravy

Not an exhaustive list. Read ingredient labels carefully

Avoid:
Gluten
In addition to avoiding the foods listed under wheat those with gluten intolerence must avoid these:
Wheat and wheat varieties (durum, emmer, spelt, farro and einkorn wheat)
Rye
Barley
Oats (cross-contact risk)
Buckwheat is not related to wheat and is considered safe to eat

Not an exhaustive list. Read ingredient labels carefully

Check labels

Ale and beer
Asian cuisine
Baked goods and baking mixes
Breaded / batter-fried foods
Breakfast cereals
Ice cream
Processed meats and meat patties
Sauces and salad dressings
Soups
Starch
Ketchup, malted items (e.g. malt vinegar)

Not an exhaustive list. Read ingredient labels carefully

 
People with wheat allergies, coeliac disease  and non-coeliac gluten sensitivity account  for up to 10% of the population. Roughly  20% of people with a wheat allergy, will also experience a cross-reaction with other gluten-containing cereals. Therefore, when reviewing  your recipes, make note of the presence of all cereal grains noted in the table to the left.1

Did you know

While oats themselves don't contain gluten, they should be avoided due to cross-contact with gluten-containing cereals during harvest.
 

Replace one cup of wheat flour with: 

1-11/4 cups rye flour*
7/8 - 1 cup rice flour
1 cup maize (corn flour)
1 cup potato flour
1 cup soy flour
+ 1/4 cup potato starch
1 1/3 cups rolled oats or oat flour*
5/8 cup rice flour
+1/3 cup rye flour*
5/8 cup rice flour
+ 1/3 cup maize flour
5/8 cup potato starch
1/2 cup soy flour
+ 1/2 cup rice flour
1/2 cup potato flour
1 1/2 cup rye flour*

*not suitable for people avoiding gluten-containing cereals 

Sources

  1. C. Ortiz et al (2017) “Celiac disease, non cealiac gluten  sensitivity and wheat allergy: comparison of 3 different  diseases triggered by the same food,” Rev Chil Pediatr  88(3), pp. 417-23
  2. Powers, C. & M. Abbott Hess (2013) Essentials of Nutrition for Chefs, 2nd Edn. Chicago: Culinary Nutrition  Publishing
  3. Food Allergy Research & Education (2017)  “Common Allergens” www.foodallergy.org